Bank Rakyat was established on 28 September 1954 under the Cooperative Companies Ordinance 1948 which is currently the largest Islamic cooperative bank in Malaysia with assets of RM99.22 billion as at December 2016. As an entity under the Ministry of Domestic Trade, Co-operatives and Consumerism, Bank Rakyat is committed in supporting the Ministry’s mission to strengthen the cooperative sector as the backbone of the country’s economic growth through all efforts and measures. Currently, Bank Rakyat has 147 branches with more than 990 automated teller machines (ATMs) and cash deposit machines (CDMs) as well as 183 Ar-Rahnu X’Change throughout the country.

Operating hours

The branches’ operating hours for the weekend falls on Sunday:

Monday – Thursday
9.00 am – 5.00 pm


9.00 am – 12.45 pm
2.30 pm – 5.15 pm

9.00 am – 12.00 pm
1.45 pm – 5.15 pm


The branches’ operating hours for weekend falls on Fridays:

Sunday – Wednesday
9.00 am – 5.00 pm

9.00 am – 4.30 pm





Website URL